Preparing for NaNoWriMo

I was encouraged by a friend on Tumblr to be NaNoWriMo buddies. I hadn’t initially intended to do it this year, but when she asked me, I wanted to say yes so I did.

We’ve been focusing on NaNo prep this month–character introductions, plotting, etc. Well, we’ve been trying to do it. I wasn’t able to get most of the work done until the past several days, and I still have more to do.

I’m trying something new called Save the Cat. Let me preface, first and foremost, that I have never attempted to write something so absolutely structured in my whole life. I am aware that there are criticisms towards this approach, but I also want to do something different, to force myself outside my comfort zone, and to grow as a writer.

I am also going to try a new approach to NaNo. Instead of attempting to write every day, I will more than likely try to write only on my weekends. Yes, that would be 10k a weekend. Or, since I’m aiming for a 75k novel instead of a 50k novel, 20k words per weekend.

I think it’s possible. One of the reasons I think is possible is because every scene will be relentlessly plotted. I won’t have writer’s block because I already knows what happens next.

I’ll just need to power through and hope for the best. 🙂

Leave a Reply

