Rejected

One of the stories I’m waiting to hear back about was rejected. I read the email about fifteen minutes ago.

I figured it would be rejected. I don’t believe that writing short stories is my strong suit, and I know that I have a long time to ago and many more rejection notices before I’m up to snuff.

Everybody gets rejected, and I know that I can’t let myself get discouraged.

Ironically, I read the rejection notice a scant half hour after I finally managed to finish writing the first finished draft of the sequel for Sea Monster Daughters. I am very excited about this finished first draft, and I am still looking to self publish it on Kindle in September.

Like all first drafts, it needs a lot of work, but I’m just so happy to have something to work with. I’ll be taking a week off to let it brew, and during that time I’m excited to work on my other projects.

Of course, after I read the rejection slip, I had to figure out what I want to do with my short story. For now, the plan is to have it undergo another round of edits, and then to post it here or, since I’m thinking about getting a pantheon, over there. I’ve been toying with the idea of having my pantheon be similar to Stephen King’s wall of rejection slips, and I think that now would be a good time to actually put that plan into action.

I decided not to try submitting it elsewhere because I submitted it to a place with a very specific prompt given by the publication in mind. But I skimmed the collection of places I’d like to submit to one day and decided that it was not up to snuff for any of those. I’m okay with having imperfect works, and so I think I’d rather focus my energies into writing something new.

I do have two other short stories percolating and, after I finish editing this story, I’d like to take what I’ve learned and focus it on those two.

So get knocked down, get back up again, just like the song.

Business as usual.

2 thoughts on “Rejected

Leave a Reply

