iZombie: Episode 2

So when I was doing some poking around, I realized that apparently it’s a DC Comic. Which explains the comic motif, but it appears the television series is making some major departures from the source material. I don’t mind as I’ve not read the original comics nor am I someone who believes that one has to adhere to the source material with absolute faith.

I don’t believe I enjoyed Episode 2 as much as I enjoyed the pilot, which surprised me because usually it’s the other way around. I’m not sure if I had heart-pain because we saw Liv being obviously attracted to another woman, but it wasn’t “real” since it was Javier’s own brain and not Liv’s own inclinations.

My little gay heart is easily bruised and disappointed what can I say.

From the previews promoting the show before it aired, I knew that there would be at least one other zombie because there would need to be an adversary to thread the murder of the week episodes into a cohesive whole.

That said, I feel that this sort of character/plot structure is predictable.There’s always a level of predictability when it comes to shows structured like this–it’s why I’m not a big fan of “monster/murder/what-have-you of the week” style. It’s why procedural shows tend to burn me out very quickly, and I inevitably move on. But in addition to the predictability of the Who-Dun-It aspect, there’s also the need to give the series a bit more meat so that it can survive at least a season. Normally, this seems to call for some kind of nemesis that will stand in stark opposition to what the protagonist stands for, and Blaine fulfills this requirement perfectly.

This to me is one of the least interesting ways to develop conflict, though its effectiveness cannot be denied. We already hate Blaine because he kills people for brains, and he doesn’t have qualms infecting others. The scene with the woman at the bar and the subsequent reveal that he had turned her into a zombie either during or after intercourse was uncomfortable (and also seemed coded with the transmission of sexual infections as well, which just added an additional level of skeeze where I want this guy to go down, and I want this guy to go down hard).

But I can’t help but wish that whatever antagonism now resides between Blaine and Liv had arisen a little more organically. I wish they had known each other before they met on the boat. They could have been old high school friends that had had a falling out, which could have been unpacked now that they are thrown together again because of their zombie-ism. Then, as they each learned to deal with their case of the zombies in their own individual ways, they would develop their own perspectives which would inevitably be a messy process. The season would have began with them on the same page, and could have ended with them possibly in entirely different books. I think this would give a lot more room for Ravi to grow too–I don’t want him to just be Liv’s ally. He needs room and air to breathe and grow too.

That to me would have been more interesting to me than where they stand now–but of course, friendships (both whole and broken) are my sweet strawberry jam.

However, I’m still looking forward to season 3, and I still have high hopes for the rest of the series.

Leave a Reply

