Ringing in the New Year

I hope that everyone had a glad holiday season, and if you don’t do holidays, I hope your days were well.

I am looking forward to the new year. I have plans to continue to work towards my physical and mental health, and I think that will help my writing as well. I’m also going to try to buy my first house! I really, really want to move into a place of my own when the lease on my apartment is up, so I’m definitely going to do everything I can to make that a reality.

Writing wise, I aim to self-pub my first novella by the end of January through Amazon. It’s a maritime story with sea monsters and sailors and ladies falling in love with femme nbs–I’m really enjoying it, and I hope you will too. In February, I want to start drafting the sequel to that, and I’m hoping to self-pub each installment every six months or so.

I’m also going to take down my NaNoWriMo on Friday so that I can start editing it during the year of 2015. My goal is to self-pub it during the month of October because what better month to release a gay love story set against the zombie apocalypse?

I still want to write the two short stories for Team Zombie and Team Unicorn–hopefully after the holiday season when I’m not working 50 hours a week, there will be time to write them. I’m aiming for the end of January and the end of February for both.

Earlier, I mentioned I was working on a Christmas novel, and I’m still drafting that! I was hoping to have the first draft done by the end of Christmas, but that was a little too optimistic for me, since I was working so much. I think I’m going to just try and get that done by Christmas 2015. So far it’s at less than ten thousand words. I’m a little disappointed in myself, but all I can do is to keep writing, and hope to make my 2015 goal.

I still want to write the serials, but I’m not sure that I will have the time. I think I might need to choose just one to focus on, and I think that I might switch from a serial format to a a collection of short stories (or drabbles) instead of trying to write them into something resembling a cohesive narrative. I haven’t decided yet though, beyond putting them on indefinite hold.

What are your plans and goals for 2015?

Leave a Reply

